bestvoicelibrary.com
Comparison · method 2026.10

Voice Library Licensing: Three Permissions, One Checkout

A voice library licence is not one right but three: catalog use, output use, and voice identity. What ten providers publish, what they leave blank, and what to ask.

A voice library licence has three layers: the right to use the catalog, the right to use the output, and the right to use a person’s voice. Most checkout pages document only the first, and many do not document even that. The gap is not a loophole; it is a procurement risk that shows up when a client asks for proof.

This guide covers what the ten providers in our 2026 ranking state about each layer. It is not legal advice. It is a map of the public record.

Layer one: the catalog

A catalog licence says the voices in the library are cleared for use by the vendor. Deepdub’s “1,000+ licensed voices” is the clearest case here: the word “licensed” is attached to the catalog itself.

A catalog licence differs from a commercial output licence. It tells you the vendor has the right to offer the voices; it says nothing about what your plan allows you to do with the audio.

Layer two: the output

The output licence is the line that says “Commercial License” or “commercial use” next to a plan. Only one provider in this run states it clearly on the page where the catalog is sold: ElevenLabs attaches a Commercial License to Starter.

The others are silent in different ways. Google Cloud TTS prices characters and requires billing but does not carry a commercial-licence line. Amazon Polly does the same. Speechify sells a consumer reading plan. Murf’s plan page did not render for us. Kits AI, Respeecher, HeyGen, and Synthesia do not state output rights on the pages we checked.

Silence is not prohibition, and it is not permission. It means the buyer has to ask.

Layer three: the voice identity

If the voice is a stock catalog entry, the vendor’s licence usually covers the catalog voice. If the voice is a clone of a real person, the person’s consent sits above the platform licence. No platform can grant a right it does not hold.

Cloning belongs in four situations:

  1. your own voice;
  2. a voice actor who has given written consent for the project and territory;
  3. speech restoration for a person with a speech or language condition, with consent;
  4. post-production on a signed performer whose contract covers synthetic replacement.

Outside those four, the honest answer is a lawyer and a signed agreement, not a tutorial. This site does not publish instructions for cloning someone else’s voice.

The provider table

Provider Catalog statement Output licence Notes
ElevenLabs 10,000+ voices (third-party) Commercial License on Starter cloning listed on paid plans
Google Cloud TTS 380+ voices not stated on the rate page per-character billing
Speechify 1,000+ voices not stated on the consumer page reading plan
Deepdub 1,000+ licensed voices licensed catalog; output terms not stated enterprise/custom
Murf 200+ voices not readable in our check price page did not render
Amazon Polly 100+ voices not stated on the rate page per-character billing
Kits AI no count published not stated free plan, API
Respeecher 40+ voices consent statement only no commercial line
HeyGen 1,000+ voices not stated video-credit plans
Synthesia no count published not stated video-credit plans

The pattern is stark. The catalog column is full; the output column is nearly empty. That is the finding, and it is more useful than a ranking score.

What to ask before you pay

If a provider cannot answer the first two, the subscription is a test, not a clearance.

Why this matters for a catalog ranking

Our method gives licensing clarity 20% of the weight because it is the field most likely to stop a delivery. A library with 10,000 voices and no licence line is harder to use than a smaller library with a clear one. The ranking rewards disclosure, not catalog size alone.

For the full order, see the 2026 results.

FAQ

Does a paid voice library subscription include commercial rights?

Not automatically. ElevenLabs names a Commercial License from its Starter plan, and Deepdub describes a licensed voice catalog. Google Cloud TTS, Amazon Polly, Speechify, Murf, Kits AI, Respeecher, HeyGen, and Synthesia do not state a commercial-licence line on the pages we checked. A subscription buys access; the licence is a separate field.

What is the difference between a licensed catalog and a commercial licence?

A licensed catalog means the voices in the library are cleared for use by the vendor. A commercial licence means your output can be used in monetized work. A catalog can be licensed without the plan granting output rights, so the two statements are not interchangeable.

Can I clone a voice from a library and use it anywhere?

No. A library voice is a catalog entry, not a person you can copy. If you clone a real speaker, you need that speaker's consent for the specific use. ElevenLabs lists Instant and Professional Voice Cloning on its plans, but a cloning feature is not a consent document.

What should I keep as licence evidence?

The plan name, the purchase date, the account holder, a copy of the plan page at purchase, and the provider's terms URL. If a cloned voice is involved, add the speaker's signed consent. That folder answers most client questions without another email.

↑